Text Only version | Large Print version | Black Text on White Background Version | White Text on Black Background |

National Disabled Students Union

NDSU Home Button
The Braid Button
NDSU Listserv Button
Leave Out Button
Links Button
Contact Us Button

The NDSU Logo - a vertical braid in orange, green, and purple with the letters NDSU alongside it in black

Resources for local organizers planning an action on April 17th

LEAVE OUT

With the National Disabled Students Union

When: Tuesday, April 17th, 2001 at 1:00 pm EST (Noon Central, 11 am Mountain, 10 am Pacific)

Where: Schools, colleges, and universities nationwide. Contact the NDSU Regional Recruiter in your area to find the school/community location nearest you participating in the action.

What are we protesting: The Supreme Court's pattern of weakening CIVIL RIGHTS protections in the name of "STATES' RIGHTS."

The Census Bureau reports that 50% of disabled people in America are unemployed, and those who do have jobs make less money than the nondisabled.

For the remaining 50%, on February 21, 2001, the conservative majority on the Supreme Court delivered a severe blow to these workers' rights when it ruled in the Trustees of the University of Alabama v. Garrett et. al. that:

State employees facing disability discrimination at work CANNOT SUE FOR DAMAGES

The ADA isn't the first civil rights law to be weakened by this Court. In 2000, the Supreme Court:

1. Protected states against suits by their employees under the federal AGE DISCRIMINATION IN EMPLOYMENT ACT

2. Struck down the civil rights remedy of the VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN ACT

If you're concerned about this judicial activism, then join the National Disabled Students Union on April 17th to send a united and powerful message to the Supreme Court that:

The People's Right to Equality Comes Before the "States' Right" to Discriminate!


NDSU Home | The Braid | NDSU Listserv |
Leave Out! | Links | Contact Us

For more information, contact Sarah Triano at 773-463-4776 (V/Relay), 773-463-5154 (Fax) or at strian1@uic.edu

Website design by Catherine Alfieri and Stephanie Takemoto
Copyright © 2001 National Disabled Students Union. All Rights Reserved.

NDSU Logo Made By:
Nancy Lu Rosenheim, 773-262-1623, nancylu@foxvalley.net

The following text captions are for images on this page:

1. National Disabled Students Union in orange, purple, and green lettering.
2. NDSU Home Button in orange with black lettering
3. The Braid Button in orange with black lettering
4. NDSU Listserv Button in orange with black lettering
5. Leave Out Button in orange with black lettering
6. Links Button in orange with black lettering
7. Contact Us Button in orange with black lettering
8. The NDSU Logo - a vertical braid in orange, green, and purple on a white canvas background, with the letters NDSU alongside it in black. At the bottom of the braid, the different colored strands are connected by a blue band (blue symbolizing truth).