Text Only version | Large Print version | Black Text on White Background Version | White Text on Black Background |

NATIONAL DISABLED STUDENTS UNION

NDSU Home

The Braid

NDSU Listserv

Leave Out!

Links

Contact Us

Resources for local organizers planning an action on April 17th

LEAVE OUT

With the National Disabled Students Union

When: Tuesday, April 17th, 2001 at 1:00 pm EST (Noon Central, 11 am Mountain, 10 am Pacific)

Where: Schools, colleges, and universities nationwide. Contact the NDSU Regional Recruiter in your area to find the school/community location nearest you participating in the action.

What are we protesting: The Supreme Court's pattern of weakening CIVIL RIGHTS protections in the name of "STATES' RIGHTS."

The Census Bureau reports that 50% of disabled people in America are unemployed, and those who do have jobs make less money than the nondisabled.

For the remaining 50%, on February 21, 2001, the conservative majority on the Supreme Court delivered a severe blow to these workers' rights when it ruled in the Trustees of the University of Alabama v. Garrett et. al. that:

State employees facing disability discrimination at work CANNOT SUE FOR DAMAGES

The ADA isn't the first civil rights law to be weakened by this Court. In 2000, the Supreme Court:

1. Protected states against suits by their employees under the federal AGE DISCRIMINATION IN EMPLOYMENT ACT

2. Struck down the civil rights remedy of the VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN ACT

If you're concerned about this judicial activism, then join the National Disabled Students Union on April 17th to send a united and powerful message to the Supreme Court that:

The People's Right to Equality Comes Before the "States' Right" to Discriminate!

For more information, contact Sarah Triano at 773-463-4776 (V/Relay), 773-463-5154 (Fax) or at strian1@uic.edu

Website design by Catherine Alfieri and Stephanie Takemoto. Copyright © 2001 National Disabled Students Union. All Rights Reserved.

NDSU Logo Made By: Nancy Lu Rosenheim, 773-262-1623, nancylu@foxvalley.net